Good News from the HMS Art Department

HMS Art Students Published in Typography Book

Last spring, HMS students created their own set of fonts in Digital Media class with teacher Theresa McGee. Their fonts, and an accompanying article by Ms. McGee, was recently published in the newly released book, "Welcome to Typocracy." The book is aimed to inspire designers to use newly created fonts. The HMS article was the only education piece selected for publication within the book. A copy of the article with more details and the student fonts is below.

HMS Student Artists Earn Top Billing for Middle Schools in Chicagoland Art Exhibit

Twenty-four Hinsdale Middle School art and digital media students were showcased Wednesday, Nov. 6, in the Chicagoland 4x5 Art Exhibition at Oswego High School and seven students received awards. Hinsdale Middle School had more award winners than any other middle school and was the only school to have award winners in both the 2D traditional and digital media categories. The Chicagoland 4x5 features more than 2,000 student pieces from approximately 40 Chicagoland high and middle schools.

Of the seven HMS students named award winners were place-winners Caroline Petersen (third place in traditional 2-D) and Lauren Terry (second place in digital media). The five students receiving an honorable mention distinction were Ayla Mushtaq, Eshan Doshi, Angela Lim, Calista Chang and Maddie Miller. Honorable mentions are the top 10% of the exhibited work.

"I am so proud of the amazing conceptual ideas and extraordinary skilled work the HMS kids produced," said HMS art and digital media teacher Theresa McGee.

The award winners will have their artwork shown at Water Street Studio Gallery in Batavia on Friday, December 13, and the Illinois High School Art Exhibition in Chicago at the Zhou B Art Center on Sunday, March 8.

This is the first year the Chicagoland 4x5 was open to middle school students. More information on the exhibit can be found at

HMS Students who were selected to be shown in the exhibit

  1. Caroline Petersen (Award Winner)
  2. Lauren Terry (Award Winner)
  3. Ayla Mushtaq (Honorable Mention)
  4. Eshan Doshi (Honorable Mention)
  5. Angela Lim (Honorable Mention)
  6. Calista Chang (Honorable Mention)
  7. Maddie Miller (Honorable Mention)
  8. Caitlin Haines
  9. Lola Baca
  10. Alasdair Wudtke
  11. Sofia Antonelli
  12. Johann Balbach
  13. Catherine Yan
  14. Beatrice Murphy
  15. Abigail Auyeung
  16. Tecoa Jankowski
  17. Bia Zeb
  18. Analise Burns
  19. Claire Chung
  20. Ayla Mushtaq
  21. Eshan Doshi
  22. Angela Lim
  23. Calista Chang
  24. Maddie Miller