Board of Education Elections

The Community Consolidated School District 181 Board of Education is comprised of seven members elected by the community to fulfill its powers and duties on behalf of the District. These powers and duties include the authority to adopt, enforce, and monitor all policies for the management and governance of the District's schools i.e., approving the ongoing expenditures and budget, and hiring and evaluating the Superintendent.

Elections are held during the Consolidated Election on the first Tuesday in April of each odd-numbered year. (If that date conflicts with Passover, the election moves to the second Tuesday.) Terms of members are staggered so there are three or four seats contested at each biennial election. Vacancies caused by death or resignation are filled by appointment (by the remaining Board members) until the next election.

2021 Election

Four District 181 Board of Education seats are open in the April 6, 2021 election. Those seats are currently held by:

  • Margaret Kleber, Board President (4-year term)
  • Meeta Patel, Vice President (4-year term)
  • Nathan Lucht, Member (4-year term)
  • Bill Cotter, Member (2-year term - Appointed 2020 to fill the seat vacated by William Merchantz)

Prospective Candidate Petition Packets Now Available

Prospective Candidate Petition Packets are now available on the DuPage County Election Commission’s website under “Election Commission Documents & Forms.” Scroll down to the document section under “For Candidates.” Community Consolidated School District 181 uses “School District Format 2.” The direct link is: DuPage County Candidate Petition Packet

Petition packets are also available at the District Office. Please contact Jean Duggan jduggan@d181.org if you would like to pick up a packet at the office.

The first day to circulate petitions is September 22, 2020. Filing dates are from December 14 - December 21, 2020.

IASB School Board Elections Information

Information from IASB for school board candidates and information about next year’s school board elections has been posted to the IASB website. Recently updated resources for board of education candidates include the Illinois State Board of Elections 2021 Candidate's Guide and Qualifications & Characteristics of a School Board Member.

2019 Election

Four seats were open in the D181 Board of Education in the April 2, 2019 election. The four seats were occupied by Board President Jennifer Burns and Board members Marty Turek, Rich Giltner and William Merchantz. Seated on April 24, 2019, were William Merchantz, Sinead Duffy, Sarah Jakobsen, and Sheetal Rao.

2017 Election

Three seats were open in the April 4, 2017 election, with three candidates running: Margaret Kleber, Nathan Lucht, and Meeta Patel. Those three candidates won the election. Newly elected Board of Education members were seated on May 2, 2017.

* Links on this page are intended to provide access to information and publications regarding the election.

Election Resources

D181 Election Official

If you have questions regarding Board of Education elections for District 181, please contact Jean Duggan, Assistant to the Superintendent and Secretary to the Board of Education, who serves as the District's election official.

District 181 commits to an environment of excellence in education by…

  • Providing each child the challenging and safe learning environment.
  • Developing lifelong Learners and productive citizens.
  • Building self-confidence and developing character.
  • Encouraging creativity.
  • Demanding continuous Improvement.
  • Expecting Innovation and professional development.
  • Assuring accountability.
  • Communicating effectively
  • Working with the community in a spirit of collaboration, trust, and respect.